Second 5k pace work session of the season

Today was another track workout, 12 sets of 400m with 200m recovery at 5k pace. That’s ideally in the high 81 seconds range. It was a little wet today so there was no hugging the track ability on the run. My pace was 82 seconds for the first 9 sets and then 81, 80, 80 for the last three so close enough. As I look back to previous seasons I know I always struggle with 5k work, but I think I’m usually right under pace. So what this tell s me is I’m not in flat 2:45 marathon shape, time to tune my goal for the final race prep next Saturday and the marathon in Boston.

Leave a Reply

