First 24 mile long run of the season

This week is a prescribed down week but I didn’t take the long run down to 16 but went for 24. Since I’m kind of still building up (lingering injury from the race in Portland sidelined me a little) I’ll be at 70 miles for the week and below my base target of 75 to 80 miles a week. I may pay for it come the first I guess “non-race prep” but kind of a “race prep” run at the Ausitn Marathon in two weeks. The next two weeks will be up weeks and at Austin I’ll try for 3 sets of 5 miles at MGP (marathon goal pace). That will be extremely challenging for me but it’ll tell me where I stand from a fitness standpoint.

Today’s run was interesting. I ran 3 miles with Mike and Chris and we averaged 8 min/mile and then another 21.5 on the course the Austin Marathoners were running, which happen to be the North part of the actual marathon course. Within a mile and half of this leg I was pretty much on my own. I’m not quite at the fitness of everybody else as far as pushing paces so was in pretty much no mans land for the entire run, it reminded me of training for CIM. During CIM training I expected it but wasn’t quite mentally ready today. I was looking forward to running with people for the portion before they turned off for 16 but everybody has their own training to do so it wasn’t meant to be. It was a mentally test to just keep trudging along without any conversations or others to obseve to distract myself. Overall pace for this leg was close to 7:15 min/mile so a good comfortable pace.

Leave a Reply

