Healthy living

In the last few weeks friends in my life have directly or in their extended families had to deal with a number of health issues. These have included heart trouble, MS, and tumors. It’s reminded me to be thankful for what I have going for me in life and I think is helping me identify the next area I’d like to volunteer with. Over the last 5 years I’ve been involved with Green Doors (formerly Community Partnership for the Homeless). Green Doors is an Austin area non-profit organization providing transitional and permanent housing to the formerly homeless and those at risk of homelessness. I’ve found the experience very fulfilling and have been the Board Chair for going on two years. I’ll continue to be involved but have been wanting to find something new to also focus on. Healthcare and education are two areas I’ve considered in the past and I think I’ll need to get back into that. Maybe something focused on fitness with a component of education to promote it. I haven’t figure out what to do specifically but if you have any ideas based on this post feel free to share them with me.

Leave a Reply

