Weak or in tune with my body

I wrote a few weeks about trying some new shoes out and specifically about running the Elixir instead of the Precision. One area of my foot that bothered me towards the end of my CIM training in 2008 was my toes. Specifically the joint of the toe which would get tight where I couldn’t really bend the toe down on it’s own and pulling it up would hurt. I haven’t had that issue with the Elixir and last week on my trip to Berkeley I decided to run in my Precision again and the felt a little discomfort again. I’ve realized and been told I have some weakness in my toes/foot and need to perform the towel exercises (an example) but what was up with the show change bringing it on. I then went back to my CIM race when I started wearing the Nike Lunar Trainer and when we arrived in Sacramento my toe joint hurt a lot.

Both the Nike Lunar Trainer and Mizuno Precision are very flexible, they pretty much bend with your foot. What that has meant is that when walking or running my foot and toes are flexing more than they really are capable of right now and that seems to be the reason for the soreness and tightness. The flexibility does mean I can get better push off but for now I have some work to do before the Precisions can be used for anything longer than 10 miles.

I was talking to somebody about this at the Rogue Equipment store over the weekend and it was one of those moments where I thought … really, I’m so weak where I can’t handle a small difference in the shoes because of my toes! Then somebody else said runners are just more in tune with their body 🙂

4 comments

  1. interesting…I like a light flexible shoe too. I have had major foot issues in the past. My feet like the Mizuno Inspire but I find them at times a little bit in the way on turns. I don’t think it’s a problem with the shoes, just more so a problem with tight, inflexible ankles/feet.

  2. Dude, the towel curls really help. They were instrumental in getting me past my foot issue earlier this year. I can explain sometime how the doc has me doing them (if ya want).

  3. Interesting to read this because I’ve worn Precisions for years and have the exact same problem…the big toe joint on my left foot gets really sore on longer runs. I was searching the web for Precision vs Elixir comparisons when I came across your post. I think I’ll have a try with the Elixirs.

  4. I bought a pair of Elixirs as noted above and I really like them! Damn these shoes are light! I still wear the Precisions but in the meantime I bought a 2nd pair of Elixir as I already have decided they are now my shoe of choice! No more toe problems too!

Leave a Reply

