The right motivation to get back into training

Enough of putting a good face on it, Boston is over and my Team kicked some ass so I can share my true thoughts on my season, no negativity for them. For me this was a pretty shitty training season for Boston. Including Boston I’m at 3 DNS’s (did not starts) for 2009, have had 3 injuries, gone from being able to clock out easy runs at 7:15 paces at 80+ miles a week to being sidelined, not running for three weeks leading up to Boston and now getting back to 15 miles a week at an 8 min pace. Since my downward spiral started in February and I could never consistently train, that seemed to make the final decision to skip Boston not as difficult as I thought it would have been.

What I really need now is the motivation to get back into training and the discipline to do the things I know I have to in order to stay injury free. For the motivation, what more do I need than race reports like these from Mike and the amazing results for the Team. I know some of you (I do read your blogs) had tough days but your ability to challenge your body physically and mentally is inspiring. I can’t wait to get back out on the roads with the Team to train. Thanks for the motivation guys and gals … now how do I work on that discipline thing …

3 comments

  1. You can do it, Kam. You are mentally and physically tough. You just have to get your body caught up with your determination and spirit!

    1. You are so right. I just filled out my spreadsheet with a marco. In two months I’ll hopefully be back to my weekly mileage target!

Leave a Reply

