Sticking a fork in it

Time to call an end to this training season for me, and I’m surprisingly good with it. The tendonitis in my right foot that came on after the Tuesday workout (which went really well) and prevented me from completing the workout on Thursday hasn’t gotten much better. With only four weeks left till the Boston Marathon and the time I’ve missed with training this season I don’t see myself being able to recover, get my fitness/endurace back to a level to race in Boston. I’ll see how the leg recovers and then decide if I’ll run Boston as a fun easy long run, go to cheer the team on or stay in Austin.

This has been an interesting season, I’ve suffered more from inflammation issues than anything else and it’s been one leg, to the other and then back. I would have thought that not being able to hit my goal at Boston would be upsetting but it really isn’t. The thing I truly enjoy about running is seeing what I can push my body to do. Well, this season I learned that I need to do something different to sustain my training to meet my goals. It’s that psychotic love of the pain and learning, ups and downs that makes running so great. If it went well all the time I wouldn’t appreciate it as much.Ā  Overcoming this new challenge and figuring out my way through this current plateau is invigorating.

For all of you on the team, I’ll be picking your brains about what you do and try some different things out … and I’m going to enjoy seeing you guys crush Boston just like you did CIM.

6 comments

  1. Hard choice but good one. Best to let things get repaired. I have found that I do fine on lower miles and if I do too much I get tired and then can’t get the workouts done. Have had a few minor injuries but nothing major and I’ll attribute that to my low end miles. Last year I did 1 20 mile run before Austin and acheived my goal there and 1 22 mile run before Boston after struggling to recover from Austin and did way better than I thought I would. I will be interested to see how things go this year at Boston given the # of 20+ mile runs I have done since Sept.

  2. Great attitude about all this Kamran! You have really tried every way to work around and with this issue and it just decided to hang on longer than your schedule was set for! You are smart not to push it past the point of no return!

    I have been facing the same dilemma…go to Boston or not… I feel worse almost every time I run, and yet I know I have to ride this out… Yeah, not my vision for this year either…oh well!

    I really enjoyed reading the second to last paragraph of your post. I feel good reading that…it makes me feel good about my thoughts on “this is what it is” and I just have to keep wading through. You are invigorating!! šŸ™‚

  3. Boooooo…. Noooooooo…. Stupid injury. I’m sorry to hear it, Kamran. I know first hand how much effort you put in to this. I’ll be over here, bumming for you.

Leave a Reply

