Time for a little patience and keeping the real prize in mind

This is always the hardest thing. My last few posts have been about an injury I’ve been dealing with for a while. In the past as soon as something crops up I’ll generally go cold turkey (running wise) and stop running, then slowly build up. Since I hurt my leg this time I’ve still been running 45 to 50 miles a week (down from 80 to 90) instead of 0 to 20 miles and my leg hasn’t healed completely. I’ve taken 2 days off at a time but things haven’t gotten better. It’s a tough thing to deal with mentally because it seems like my off cycle seems to coincide with everybody else’s on cycle. In the last season I had side stitch issues around a Soul Buster that the crew nailed and I almost bailed (how’s that for a little rhyme). This Sunday we’re supposed to run the Austin Marathon and I had a goal of 12 to 18 miles at my marathon goal pace and next weekend is the first Soul Buster.

Somebody wrote the following in a message to me:

“Just be careful and keep your eye on Boston – that’s the real, prize, right?! “

YES. My goal (I like prize better so I’m going to start calling it a prize from now on) … my real prize is Boston on April 20th so it’s time for a little patience on my part. I’m taking a complete week off from running. I was going to do that this week but got greedy. The marathon on Sunday is a no go for sure and it looks like the Soul Buster next weekend is at risk too … the price of impatience but not the end of the world.

Current Wins: Time with family, Seinfeld and Springsteen tickets, my job

Current Losses: Readjustment to running plans

4 comments

  1. OMG! What’s the deal with all the man cards being played tonight??? so the man card part is funny the injure part not so much. Get better soon.

    I like the switch from goal to prize. Good call fo’ sho!

  2. You mean man cards being revoked. Maybe men got hormonal around Marathons!

    I can’t take credit for the “prize” vs “goal” but I’m adopting it fo’ sho!

Leave a Reply

