Imbalances that normally don’t matter add up

In December I discussed the different things Mark identified during my sessions which I’m trying to resolve to become a stronger runners as well as less injury prone. One part of my routine is a really simple, I alternate between hanging knee lifts and stepping up on a platform in a running motion or knee drive … I do NOT do it with weights like the video below shows.

Some of the things I was told to focus on is not leaning to the side on either side, my hips being aligned, not drooping one shoulder. When the gym isn’t busy (which has been difficult given it’s a new year) I try and do this exercise in front of a mirror. Today around 5:00 the gym was relatively empty so I was able to pay more attention to the exercise. In my first set of 3 I could see that when I step up with my right foot my right hip and knee tend to go outward a little while the left side is much straighter. On the next two sets I focused as much possible on trying to keep the right side straight, trying to get the muscle memory, part of it seemed to have to do with which part of the foot I would apply pressure on. Making it more evenly distributed required me to focus on using the inside toes on my foot and that seemed to line things up much better.

This all seems like a small  thing and for most people it is. To put it into perspective for a distance runner like me. I ran 80 miles this week, which at an 8:00 min per mile pace would be 640 minutes. Each minute my right foot strikes about 90 times. So the pressure that isn’t aligned was in play over 57,000 times! That turned this small deal into a relatively big deal and why increased intensity for endurance sport training really does bring out the little things that aren’t ideal in our bodies.

Leave a Reply

