The questions before a marathon

After my 22 miler this morning I decided to sit in on some of the pre-race prep conversation between a few Rogue coaches and their athletes. I haven’t coached a group since the Chicago group in I think it was 2006 and it was good to listen to the different questions that come up as well as the quick tips and tricks.

Some of the questions and the answers (from memory so there may be some inaccuracies):

  • Q: I drink a glass of wine each night should I not do that? I do all the other hydration etc.
    A: If you have been go ahead, a glass of wine or a beer isn’t going to hurt you … a half bottle or bottle of wine is a different story.
  • Q: Running a negative split, when should I go anaerobic?
    A1: Not at mile 18 when you’re picking your pace up.
    A2: That’s more than 20 seconds faster than your marathon goal pace (MGP), it’s unlikely you’ll do that early on.
    My addition in hindsight: In a marathon we’re basically trying to delay the buildup of lactic acid as long as possible and if we enter an oxygen debt too early fatigue. I would say gradually pick up your pace so you’re hitting the last mile where you might go anaerobic if at all … unless you know you can run with an oxygen debt for a longer period and have trained for it.

Some good tips:

  • Take a small water bottle for the first few miles to avoid the really busy initial water stops.
  • Don’t get freaked out by other runners and people at the expo or the hotel etc. People will ask you what you’re wearing, what your race plan is and compare it to their own … don’t doubt your plan.
  • Pack for all weather conditions, you never know what will change.
  • Go to goodwill or somewhere else to get some throw away clothes and layers. You can get a long sleeve t-shirt and cut the top and bottom so you can rip it off super man style.
  • Eat what you’re used to eating, if you don’t eat pasta normally don’t start loading up on pasta now.

Today’s Run: 22 miles at around a 7:30 pace

Current Wins: Time with college friend, time with family and nephew, low interest rates

Current Losses: House cleaning, leisure reading

4 comments

  1. hey thought say hi your blog. good post. it was a good session with the coaches today. one of the great things I appreciate about Rogue.
    lot’s of good info on your blog as per your running. I enjoy following it.
    keep it up.

    chuck

  2. Do you want to tell me here who you went to the movies with, or should I ask you on facebook? You knew Katie and I would ask.

  3. Not necessarily advising or recommending, but the night before Boston 2005 Clemmie and I shared an entire bottle of wine. Good times, happy memories, I wouldn’t change a thing.

Leave a Reply

