Long run with a plan

Today was an 18ish mile run, putting me at right over 70 for the week. On Thursday I looked at the route and set out some goals for this long run. My primary focus was on some running weaknesses and to learn to run at slightly uncomfortable paces since I tend to lock into a comfortable zone very easily. So I sent out an e-mail with the following notes to the group I regularly run with:

  1. Overall pace 7:20 to 7:30 (may be slower with the temp/humidity)
  2. Warm-up 3 miles
  3. Mile 4 – Push the hill, focus on form
  4. Mile 6 – Push the downhill, feel for the quads and hammies since Boston is down for 16 miles at the start, also on foot strike so it isn’t forcing me back but pushing forward
  5. Enfield – Hills focus on form, knee lift
  6. Expo – Focus on uphill on half the stretches on form specifically and foot strike. Alternate focus on each uphill between Quads to force down and Hammies to push forward
  7. Mile 15 onwards – Bring it in faster per mile, focus on mid-foot strike and push off on downhill section

How did I do?

  • The overall run was around 7:15 which is I guess close enough to 7:20
  • Mile 4 – 7:10
  • Mile 6 – 7:05
  • Hills -> Managed to do what I needed to. It was challenging trying to get out of the marathon shuffle stride and focus on knee lift, foot strike, push off etc … need to work on these areas a little more
  • Last 4.6 miles in 32 minutes so right under 7 minutes per mile

All in all I’m glad I had a plan for this run, that’s something I need to try and do more of for the rest of this training season … consciously think of what I’m trying to get out a run, maybe not all of them but for now starting with 2 to 3 a week.

One comment

Leave a Reply

