First week of training for Boston ’09 is over

Today’s 16 mile run put me at 55 miles for the week. This is the first week of consistent running and gym work since the marathon (CIM) on the 7th of this month. I’m feeling recovered and my legs feel good, maybe too good so I know it isn’t going to last. I’ve been able to keep my easy pace below 7:40 without much effort. 7:40 is where I averaged for all the long runs training for CIM and it’s my natural cadence for an easy run, I just lock into it. During the training for Boston I’m trying to change up my paces a little, pushing for a few minutes at a time on long runs as well as a run or two during the week. Steve said to do it so I’ll do it.

This week was an “up” week for sure, I felt great on every run. As with any training season there are going to be some down weeks coming. Today I averaged a 7:20 pace which is where I’d ideally like to be as I work on getting down to a 2:50 marathon. Yes, that is the goal, when, we’ll see. That’s a 6:30 pace for 26.2 miles which is what I think I would run a half marathon at so I have lots of work left.

As I try and pick up the paces on some of these runs I need to really take advantage of my recovery runs, like the 7 mile run tomorrow morning. I don’t want to burn out or get injured by running harder all the time.

Current Wins: Shopping and clothes that fit, cooking again, emptying the house of stuff I don’t need

Current Losses: distance, leisure reading,

One comment

Leave a Reply

