Recovering from a race

I ran around 5 miles this morning with Damon. One of the things we discussed, and I’ve had this discussion with a couple of other people, is the recovery process from a racing a marathon. The key word here is “racing”. During our Team Rogue training we’ve had plenty of 20+ mile runs, I did more than 15 and I was on the low count and we I had at three at or greater than the marathon distance of 26.2

Recovering from those training runs and even some of the more challenging ones with 10 or 15 miles at MGP was a one to two day process, with little fatigue and soreness in the legs. Racing CIM last weekend however has been a different story. Race pace sustained for 26.2 miles is just a world of difference. From mile 18 onwards I knew my right calf was getting tight and my Achilles in both legs was feeling tight. That’s the one area that is still nagging me in my right leg a week and a half after the marathon, but it’s understandable.

The other thing I noticed this Sunday was not tightness but an “extreme looseness” in my legs. It was almost as if there wasn’t enough tension for me to control my leg motion correctly, kind of an over-striding sensation but without really pushing my pace. Guess these are all the things the body has to re-adjust and fix up after racing a marathon and it’ll take the time it needs to.

Current Wins: Caught up with a friend over dinner, made Boston hotel plans (thanks Mike), appointments made for strength training and nutrition

Current Losses: Foot/toe issue remains, tight Achilles, poor hydration

7 comments

  1. Dee- Seriously, I need to know what’s going on with the black book. There are not current wins or losses. I’m concerned???

  2. Katie, I’m concerned also. And he doesn’t mention if the dinner date was with a male or woman. He loves to be so mysterious with us.

  3. To be clear “cute girl” should make it clear if it was male or female πŸ™‚ I should have thought about who I was saying “bring it on” to!

  4. Foho- I’m fantastic! I’m totally catching up on all my boozin’. Although I think I’ll give my liver a break on Friday to rest up for a whopping 6 miler on sat.

    how are you?

    Fool- you must be specific about the girls/boys you are interested in it is Austin!!!

Leave a Reply

