Attempting to refocus

These are my mental ramblings so please stop reading if you’re expecting to learn something useful. The last few months of training led to a great race for me at CIM, but I know I’ve let other areas of my life suffer as a result.

Ruth had a great post on over-living, Ricardo rightly accused me of over-living when I was training with him and Carmen. At a simple level I can break life into Running, Work, Personal/Relationships. If I look back I’d say I tend to let Work and Running take over. Part of it is that running and work are easier to manage, more systematic and formulaic. That doesn’t mean I always make my time or project goals.

So what’s next for me?

  1. I am going to train harder for Boston with Team Rogue. I love the people in the team and enjoy their company.
  2. I’m going to be better at managing my work load, focusing more on the important things and not getting bogged down in lots of the details.
  3. I agreedΒ  to be board president of the non-profit I volunteer with for another year. I’m excited about some things we’re doing and need to help grow the board and organization.
  4. So I haven’t given anything up and am doing more? So this is now the personal side. I’ve had a few interesting conversations with friends lately about doing friendships justice. I won’t explain all the reasoning here but I’m going to spend my time trying to grow and maintain my long term relationships, spend less effort on acquaintances, and spend more effort on new friendships I’d like to see as lasting ones. This one is where I’ll be making some tough decisions. This doesn’t mean I’m going turn into a hermit but I will actively focus on some friendships/relationships over others and cut bait on (more like not “make active effort”) on others.

The first three are simple. The last one requires some tough decisions that I’ve already started to make … not easy but it’s what I need for me.

Current Wins: Decisions

Current Losses: Decisions

16 comments

  1. Are you in my head??? I think the only thing that made me realize you weren’t is that you’re on a board and I’m in school. I’ve been having these same thoughts since I read Ruth’s post and after my race.

    Interesting K!

    Do any of these relationships have to do with lunch/dinner with cute girls??? I will not quit asking until I get some details. I’m sure I speak for Dee & FoHo too;-)

  2. Kameron…I think this is funny that you brought this up too! I was kinda chatting to Katie in CA about the things that we learn as kids as opposed to the things that we learn as adults. This conversation had to do with the difference I felt in learning to ride as a kid and run as an adult…and the differences encountered. For me, it also applies to learning about friendships…something that I am learning as an adult (after spending most of my childhood and young adult life as a psuedo recluse.) Friendships DO take a lot of work…I am not too good at them myself yet…but as I learn, I am inspired to continue because they really do keep the heart beating. Good ideas, good post!

  3. A-hem…I’m just saying, I know you better not be considering me as an acquaintance, or we are gonna have some problems up in here!

    And yeah you right Katie you spoke correctly. You are our voice when we can’t post fast enough.

  4. For Katie -> the dinner/lunch girl is one of the ones I’m thinking of but that’s the minor one. It’s a closer friendship that I struggle with a little and have this year that I’m trying to wrestle with … not fun at all 😦

    Julia -> I’m glad I’m in good company being a psuedo recluse myself.

    Dee -> Did you not read item number 1?

  5. Friendships can be challenging and sometimes we have to let go of certain ones. It’s one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do. Sorry, you are struggling with it. Yes, it’s NO fun.

    Dee- I’ve got your back. I think you should book him on some dates…Better yet we should just take over his dating life;-)

Leave a Reply

