How things change in 20 years

So this is a little something I haven’t shared with most people … until now. I never really did much in the way of physical activity growing up. I was always skinny and tried my hand at skate boarding (almost broke my back), basketball and rugby (that was a BAD idea). But before all that, 20 years ago I was diagnosed with Leukemia. There’s a lot of psycho mumbo jumbo that goes with that which requires a trip to the coffee shop to discuss but the long and short of it is at 13 and many years after that I didn’t really have much in the way of physical activity (a lot of my own doing).

When I started running a few years ago it was to become a little fitter, get my resting heart rate lower than the 88 rate it was at the time. This weekend I ran a marathon in under 3 hours at a pace of 6:50 minutes per mile. In junior high I couldn’t run a mile at that pace. I realized today that next month marks 20 years for my original diagnosis. I’m not what you’d call a touchy feely person but being in remission for around 20 years on it’s own is a great milestone but to have a sub-3 hour marathon to go with that and be fitter and healthier than I ever have been in my life leaves me at a loss for words.

8 comments

  1. We all have lots to be thankful for, but your story is definitely an amazing one to tell and share. Congratulations on all levels!

Leave a Reply

