Who knew how I tie my shoe laces would become so important

Since last Sunday my left foot has had some soreness on the top, kind of the highest region of the foot. It’s from a number of things, tight hips, knots in the calf and so on. One thing that I remember from last Saturday’s Marathon Goal Pace Run is that when I started I noticed my shoe laces were tight and restricting my foot. So that seemed to compound the issue and I really should have adjusted my laces then.

After that time I’ve been conscious about my laces and trying to keep them looser at the top. This morning I went a little too far with that, the first 6 to 8 miles my left shoe was too loose and that was making my foot hurt. So I ended up tightening it and that helped for the rest of the 22 mile run. This is all really trying to get around the minor injury but it’s important to prevent further aggravation. I might need to make a trip to Rogue Equipment and get some advice on different ways to lace my shoes, to see what else I can do … of course I better try that on a shorter/easy run 🙂

Today’s Run: 21ish Miles

Current Wins: Breakfast with the team, wonderful weather, relaxing day ahead

Current Losses: Slacking on taking care of the foot, former co-worker moving from Austin,

2 comments

  1. Hey 2 things..

    Check this out: http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-238-267–12334-0,00.html

    and also… i heard or read somewhere…
    If your foot hurts on the top somewherere… grab somethign colorful yet stick, like lipstick, or shoe polish, and put a dab on it on your foot where it hurts. Then put on your shoe, and press down on it where it hurts. Then take shoe off, and lookk in your shoe where the pain is exactly. Skip those shoe loops to relieve direct pressure on that area of your foot. Sounds like a pretty good idea to me!

  2. Sweet, thanks for sharing those. Joe laces my new shoes today kind of like the third video but a little differently. I’ll have to try a couple of these out.

Leave a Reply

