Sometimes you just have to put it out there

It’s interesting to me how much my running personality mimics my social personality. I’m conservative (NOT a Republican) and very guarded. It’s something I’ve been working on with running for sure and trying to in my personal life … funny how the two are so closely related in many ways.

For running it was to emotionally invest and commit to my training, which I’ve been trying to do since September. It sounds simple enough but you have to realize that my entire training till now has been within what I think I’m capable of at that time, and not pushing it. And I pretty much rationalize away anything so I can convince myself I don’t care if I don’t perform well. For example the workout this Thursday is something I don’t think I would have ever done when I was in the performance project a few years ago. I was running at a 6:00 min per mile pace which is way faster than my current 3 hour fitness. But it’s what I needed to do to get me out of my comfort zone and get pissed when I fail if I’m really going to reach my potential.

On the personal side I’m very similar, very guarded, don’t open up, take a long time to make friends … ok, maybe too much detail but it’s my blog so don’t read it if it bothers you 🙂 So on the running side it’s taking more risk by pushing myself beyond my comfort zone and on the personal side it’s taking more risk by being more open to people I know and meet. I guess it’s just one of those years for me where change is in the air … hopefully for the better.

3 comments

  1. I’ve been thinking the same thing today in regards to how running does mimic our everyday life. Yes, change is in the air for you and yes, it’s the good kind;-)

    Way to push the envelope!!!

  2. I’m sure I’m not the only one who is glad that you’re letting the walls down and some new people in. I’m sorry to break it to you that now that you’re part of my life, you are stuck with me. : )

  3. Kameron, Au contraire!! You must’ve already changed more than you think. You were one of the persons that made me feel more relaxed this year when I came back to training after my knee injury. I was feeling pretty left behind but you always perked me up. Love ya dude!!!!

Leave a Reply

