Applying some lessons about balance from running to life

This blog has mainly been just about running so far but instead of trying to keep a running blog, a life blog and a work related blog I figured I might as well just use this for running and life … still need to keep work a little separate. The measured approach to training is all about balance and phases. At its simplest level it’s the balance of time, frequency and intensity. During the office hours this week I was discussing how the 3 hour marathon paces seem to be fine for me and asked Steve if I should push more or just leave it as is. He suggested I try and look at 2:55 to 3:00 and week to week use paces for those and just force myself that way. I’ve tended to be fairly conservative in my running in the past and it’s worked out but for the remaining time to CIM I’m going to make a conscious effort to get out of my comfort zone, so when the time comes for Boston training I can really test my limits.

Outside of running I seem to have gone to the other extreme with work (looking at a change in around month), non-profit, trying to get a new start-up going with some friends and recently with keepaustinrunning.org Combine that with trying to have some semblance of a social life and things have gotten a little out of hand. So today as I was reading Three Cups of Tea I wondered to myself how my approach to running versus life can be so different. On one had keeping everything very under control, not risking anything and on the other just going crazy doing too many things. Then I got to thinking, in some way both my running and over commitment to all other things are in some way indications of my risk adverseness. By keeping involved in so many things I could in some ways just be hedging my bets. The problem though is it makes it tough to do any one thing well with so many balls to juggle. So that’s my theory for the day as I contemplate if, when and how I should simpilfy my life a little. My conclusions may change but here’s a little insight into the thoughts that will likely be going through my mind in the relative solitude of a run.

Leave a Reply

