Feels good to be running again

It’s been three weeks to the day when I sprained my right foot, and then lots of not running, icing and stretching. Last week was my attempt at trying to get back into the swing of things with 5 miles Tue, 5 on Thursday and then 10 on Saturday. I joined back with the Team today for first week of Phase II, the hill phase (4 weeks), that follows 14 of our base phase. Today was a progressive pace run up and down Shoal Creek, first 4 easy, then 2 at 10 seconds slower than Marathon Goal Pace (MGP), 2 at MGP and 2 faster than MGP but not below Half Marathon Pace.

I ended up running with Charles since both of us might be the only too trying for a 3 hour marathon, others are faster or just a little slower. Today’s run was great, it has difficult for me to really keep a consistent pace since I’ve been off for a few weeks and don’t have a good feel yet for my effort and pace but hope that comes back in a week or two. If it doesn’t I may need to rethink the name of this blog. My MGP is a 6:53 and today’s splits ended up averaging well even though each mile wasn’t quite on. But then, that’s how most races go so the adjustments did work out:

  • 2 Mile MGP+10 (7:02) – 6:54, 7:09 – That averages out close to 7:02
  • 2 Mile MGP (6:52) – 6:38, 6:55 – That averages out close to 6:47
  • 2 Mile HMGP (6:30) – 6:40, 6:26 – That averages out close to 6:33

Not too bad, given the changing terrain and my lack of time on the road lately I’m pleased with the times. It wasn’t a hard effort, just nice and smooth. Need to stay calm and hopefully avoid injury the rest of the time leading to CIM, need to get that qualifier again so I can run Boston with everybody in April.

One comment

  1. Congrats on getting back on track. It looks like you had an awesome run this morning (and hopefully are still pain-free.)

    I see a great CIM and Boston in your future. : )

    P.S. (I think I’m going to fundraise for Boston so I can go and do it too.)

Leave a Reply

